Eleni in Ikaria -January 10, 2006


.

 Today I was ‘bought up’ twice. First a good friend came in as a sponsor and gifted me with a Flickr ‘pro’ account.

.

isl_gr - View my most interesting photos on Flickriver

.

Then someone else added my pictures in Flickr in his blog about Greece, called «The Greek Adventure».

.

I wish I knew if those acts mean that I represent something.

And if I posted my ass on Flickr?

.

.

 Anyway, to some people it seems that I represent Ikaria or Greece or whatever they like or find in me. To tell you the truth, I feel flattered. But I don’t know if I can take up anymore responsibilities, especially public ones. For example, there are places in Ikaria, the island I live temporarily, which are full of garbidge. There are people who are depressed, lonely and poor. I just show the good sides. Do I have to show the other side too? The mess with the environment and the problems people have because they don’t know what to do with it. It wouldn’t be good for tourism and the island’s pride. The price of the land would fall too. I came to stay here to be in peace and able to write something completely irrelevent with the island. I walk a lot because it makes me relax and think of the next pages.

What demon possesed me and made me take pictures?

Nevertheless, it seems this is in my destiny and in my course of life.

It’s getting really cold now.

goodnight

.

Comments

(3 total)

Ikaria compelled you dear Elle, not a demon. Go with it. Knowledge is almost never a bad thing. Would I care about Ikaria if I never saw your pictures? No. That is a positive achievement, small though it be.
Greg

Friday January 13, 2006 – 01:31pm (PST)

So you understand !!!
Stupid me I was late to spot your comment. I’m still familiarizing with this platform.
Thank you very much.
El

Wednesday January 18, 2006 – 01:29pm (PST)

I understand fully, I’ve been through it myself many times. In my opinion, hiking boots are better for a place than hooves, backpacks are better than chainsaws, tents are better than earthmovers — and if people are not aware of a special place, they won’t care to protect it. Follow your intuition Elle.
Greg

Thursday January 19, 2006 – 10:51am (PST)



Σχολιάστε

