After the Snow in the Aegean 2nd thoughts


.
.
..
Hello readers !
.
I wouldn’t mind writing more about pork chops, or about how well Greeks can deal with contradictions etc. etc. But I can’t share those thoughts in a short blog entry like this. So I’ll just state a few facts:
.
1) without the terrible surf and devastating winds of the winter, the sea wouldn’t be so blue, the rocks so round and clean and the sand so grainy and warm in the summer.
.

.
2) the mountain wouldn’t be so green and the trees so tall, neither would there be so many various herbs, without snow and frost in winter.

.

.
3) the poeple wouldn’t be so warm and hospitable
(though reserved at first sight), if (let’s suppose) there was a railway connection to the island in winter.

.

.
4) neither ‘tragopodaros’ nor I would find fresh water and falls to bathe
(and chill), if the mountains of Ikaria were lower and didn’t gather clouds and rainfall in winter.

.

.
5) finally in the summer the festivals in the villages wouldn’t be so jovial, if the place wasn’t poor and young people needn’t leave.

.

Here’s a practical example of contradictions :

.
The facility which I miss a lot in ‘the barn’ is a closet. All my clothes are hanging from nails on a wooden beam fixed on the wall. In my heavy coat now and waiting for the fireplace to heat the room, my eyes fell on my bikinis and they looked like objects from another planet! Yet these pieces of textile act as my usual underwear or onlywear after April ! In the same way in summer my heavy coat looks like a horrible dusty pile of dark hair like the skin of an extinct prehistoric animal. I can’t even remember myself having ever worn such a thing! This is contradictions, or if you wish call them antithesis, or just surprises, according to me.

.

Comments

(4 total)

Didn’t someone once say beware of Greeks bearing gifts of pork chops and contradictions?

This is a good one Elle.
G

Φοβού τους Δαναούς και δώρα φέροντας
yeah, the man is right

Monday January 30, 2006 – 11:25pm (EET)

You’ve expressed so much in few lines! Strong!

Wednesday May 13, 2009 – 01:07am (EEST)

Thank you! Here is one for you: what is the name of the bridge that bridges contradictions?

Wednesday May 13, 2009 – 12:00pm (PDT)


13 σχόλια on “After the Snow in the Aegean 2nd thoughts”

  1. Ο/Η Lambrini λέει:

    The name of the bridge is…

    «The Big Picture»

    but it’s not the only one, there are also other bridges:

    «Deeper Understanding» (which looks alike the BigPic bridge)

    «Love» (which bridges contradictions without rational explanation)

    «Open Mind» (which is ready to accept ‘the different’ without judgment)

    and maybe more,

    …so that people have more chances to get across.

    Μου αρέσει!

  2. Ο/Η Lambrini λέει:

    Yes, Elle!

    You’ve known me well from the first moment.

    I would confess which bridge I cross even without a gun pointed on me… I haven’t put it on the first place not wanting to influence anyone with my choice…

    On which bridge one can meet you? I think on the BigPicture one but I saw you crossing the Love bridge often, too.

    Μου αρέσει!

  3. Ο/Η Lambrini λέει:

    Oh, I see a different comment here and different in my yahoo mail subscription to your comments… We’re gonna have «fun» here as well…

    Yes,
    the Love bridge is the place we met and bridged any differences! I am so glad to hear that from you!

    Μου αρέσει!

  4. Ο/Η Lambrini λέει:

    …then.. we share it🙂

    Μου αρέσει!

  5. Ο/Η Lambrini λέει:

    The Alchemy of Love

    You come to us
    from another world

    From beyond the stars
    and void of space.
    Transcendent, Pure,
    Of unimaginable beauty,
    Bringing with you
    the essence of love.

    You transform all
    who are touched by you.
    Mundane concerns,
    troubles, and sorrows
    dissolve in your presence,
    Bringing joy
    to ruler and ruled
    To peasant and King.

    You bewilder us
    with your grace.
    All evils
    transform into
    goodness.

    You are the master alchemist.

    You light the fire of love
    in earth and sky
    in heart and soul
    of every being.

    Through your loving
    existence and nonexistence merge.
    All opposites unite.
    All that is profane
    becomes sacred again.

    ~ ~ Rumi

    Μου αρέσει!

  6. Ο/Η Lambrini λέει:

    Doesn’t surprise me, master alchemist.
    You live inside the ♥ bridge.

    Μου αρέσει!

  7. Ο/Η egotoagrimi λέει:

    I revisisted looking for guidance and comfort in your words, sister.

    nan cat

    I am cuddling as tight as I can but still it’s so cold!!!

    Αρέσει σε 3 άτομα

  8. […] for the wise words about the snow and the rain written six years ago. They and your perfume still around inside the […]

    Αρέσει σε 3 άτομα

  9. Ο/Η egotoagrimi λέει:

    How perfect! I should soon start to edit my old stuff too.

    Μου αρέσει!


Σχολιάστε

