Snow in the Aegean Day 1


.
.
..
Hello readers !😮
This is ‘the face of the blizzard’ as it was coming down on us yesterday afternoon.
.

.
There had been a general power failure before that. I didn’t have time to recharge the batteries of the camera or the mobile phone. I was also running out of firewood. Everybody I could ask for, were taking care of their families and I didn’t want to be a nuissance. I could manage and in fact I did. I’m a big girl.
.
The blizzard stopped a while later.
.

.
This is just snow falling in front of two big cypress trees at nightfall. I heard on the radio (on batteries) that a Turkish cargo sank somewhere to the west near Skyros island. The crew was rescued by a Greek warship except two sailors who are missing. I think I saw flares in the distance but it was probably my wild imagination. It is getting cold in the ‘barn’. I could have left if I had thought about it earlier, but this is not Switzerland and by now the roads are closed (for my car at least). I hate to call any of my friends to truckdrive me out of here. I’d rather wait for any of them to call me first. So I kill time writing (with a pencil in a scrapbook -yes, I can do that!).
I visited my neighbors and they told me that there was a terrible accident in the port of Evdilos this morning. Because of the wind and the swell two sailors fell in the sea and were crushed between their ship and the dock ! One of them died, the other one broke many bones. I hope he makes it…
I have personal reasons to wish all sailors to be safe.
.
.
The peach tree outside doesn’t seem to mind the cold.
.

When inside this valley in winter, it sounds strange to hear ugly stories about the sea, like shipwrecks and accidents. I tend to foget that I live in an island and this island has very rough shores and so happens to be located in the middle of Aegean, in a part of the sea, the ‘Icarian sea’, so notorious for its nastiness, that it is mentioned as an example of ‘riot’ in the Iliad (see intro in my set ‘the sea’ in my FLickr page). Whereas here inside this valley and in spite the weather broadcast, THERE IS NO WIND (!) Just the snow flakes falling…. Provided there is plenty of firewood (and there is) and food (ok ok and drink) (ok ok good company too), these places are ‘safe harbours’.
That’s perhaps why these valleys were so popular in Ikaria in the 17th century. There are very few houses in my neigborhood and they are all very simple, however the whole set would look like a supermodern busy town, if compared with several ‘lost villages’ buried deep in the woods not far from where I am now.

.

Total Blackout!

.

.

In the last of my camera’s battery and flash here’s Angelos in the path to my house, smiling and coming to rescue me !

Felicia the cat stayed behind to be with her loverboys.

.

Angelos’ fireplace in Rahes.

.

.

It’s right next to his computer desk.

There is power now here and I’m down to work. Spagheti and wine for later. It’s St. Gregory’s day today. So perhaps later we go visit people, or I drop dead asleep.
(P.S. best wishes Greg)

.

A village that could be a ‘lost village‘!

.

.
This is the photo of Rahes I uploaded in Flickr and mind you, it’s NOT A BLACK AND WHITE shot! Scary isn’t it? The place was covered in snow, there was no electricity and nobody seemed to be around. But you can’t smell the porkchops grilling, can you?

.

Flashlit Village Square

.

.
…and this is the photo I didn’t upload in Flickr !
It’s exactly the same frame but this time flashlit (I am always amazed at the power of my flash) and of course there is Marianina, Angelos’ sweet 10 y.o daughter (my night guide and guardian) in it. You still can’t smell the porkchops, but you have to admit that things look far better, don’t they?

goodnight
they say it’ll be fine weather tomorrow so I’m going to collect firewood. If there is time later I’ll post Flickr some more pictures with snow. I’m planning some serious writing for after tommorow. The subject will be ‘wildshots’. What’s that? Stay tuned.

.
.
.

Comments

(3 total)

I’ll count that as a blessing! Wow, I read there was snow at the Acropolis — and so you have only wood heat? I hope you have plenty of blankets. We have big snow here in the mountains too, but down near the sea it’s just rain. Well, you have my warm regards.
Warm regards,
Greg

Wednesday January 25, 2006 – 05:20pm (PST)

Glad to see you finally made it to a warm fire.. sounds like quite an adventure!

Thursday January 26, 2006 – 01:13am (EST)

We used all our firewood for a week to warm you and cheer you up. You felt so good next morning that you wanted to hike in the snow all the way back to ‘the barn’. You failed but fortunately this time the mobile phone worked !
You are the bravest El. What’s your secret? Say it here between us now…

Saturday January 28, 2006 – 10:11pm (EET)



Σχολιάστε

