Eleni Perforata in Ikaria 1 (March 27, 2006)


.

Βαλσαμόχορτο της Ικαρίας

This is ‘Johanes Perforata’, St.John’s Weed, ‘Valsamo‘ or ‘Valsamo-horto’ in Greek.
It’s a weed, a wild plant; it’s growing very fast now in the gardens and in every patch of flat land.
This photo is to show the perforations, the tiny holes through the tiny leaves which btw have tiny hairs on them.
Johanes Perforata is not a coOol weed.  It’s just a good weed. :-D
How good? Well, it’s nature’s own natural PROZAC.  That good.😀

It has many other medicinal uses, for wounds and burns in particular, and you make even make a sunproof cream from it, but this is not the point now. The point is that good old Valsamo (this the root word for Balm or «Baume«) is an efficient (however slower in action than a pill) anti-depressive.

Because depression 😥  is so natural. Especialy in spring. April in particular.

Well, this is exactly when Johanes Perforata is ready to start collecting. Before the buds open (that is when it’s strength is concentrated). We cut and let dry in the shadow for a week or two and then we boil it and we make tea. It doens’t have a funny taste; just «herbish» and slightly bitter like dandelions. The local anti-depressive cure says: 1) three mugs a day max. 2) for a severe sudden crisis take a bath in it or pour it over your head and then cover with a towel.

Except for coffee which I’ve finally grown used to having straight and sugarless (or I’d be a Greek fat ass), I don’t like bitter tastes; so I always have my Johny (-:lol) with honey. Mind you, it’s not a pill and there is no chemistry, so after I start, I have to wait for a couple of days for the cure to take effect:

ease loneliness, ease boredom, soothe stress, stop the «what’s this all about» thing -in one word (choose one), «the pain of existence«, the gdmn «blues of life«, spring blues, the «oh here we start all over again» blues.

(Valsamo doesn’t get me high, so watch your comments -lol . Oxyzen and laughter -which is oxyzen again- only do that to me, ok?)
^^’^^’

Comments

(7 total)

Is this the stupid side of you Elle, or is the isolation playing with your head? Spring, depression? Nuh-uh! Here we get depressed by the hounds of winter, the dog days, so little light, so much rain and wind. Springtime is special, its the time for love and life, activity, knocking about happily. But I do appreciate the herbal lore, and I wonder, why do they not grow grapes in the terraces anymore?

Monday March 27, 2006 – 01:34pm (PST)

oh, there is death in Spring, death and resurection -that’s why the biggest of celebrations for us is not Christmas, but Easter. Now in churches in the evenings there are the most solemn and melancholic mess services. Soon Jesus, Adonis (add a name) will die.
After that starts for us the time for lovemaking etc and it peaks up in August.
Funny= I ask the local kids for their birthday date, then I subtract 9 months and I find out that many of them were conceived (is the term correct?) in mid May -:)) As many were conceived in mid October and the rest random =Funny🙂

Tuesday March 28, 2006 – 02:10am (PST)

A doctor writes… Hmmm this is a well documented phenomenon, «Spring depression». Nettle tea is also very good at fighting it. Myself I prefer the stimulating tang of thrashing myself on the legs with the nettles, raw.

Tuesday March 28, 2006 – 11:12am (BST)

τσουκνιδες =nettles
When you were a kid did you chase and torture girls with them? I was victimized like that many times by boys.

Tuesday March 28, 2006 – 02:19am (PST)

I was not that sort of boy. I was the sort who was chased by the girls. That’s why I am shown running into the sea, to escape. Thanks for τσουκνίδες.

Tuesday March 28, 2006 – 06:56pm (BST)

Your observations about birthdates and conception dates (and yes «conceived» is quite correct, even though it also means «thought of» – Shakespeare uses this double meaning to comic effect – I paraphrase a little – «Sir, I cannot conceive….» «No but your daughter could, therefore look to it» [From «Hamlet» I think] ) People like myself, born in Feb are thus the most numerous, followed by Jan and March, then April and there is another peak in May, i.e. nine months after Aug. The same all over Europe I think.

Tuesday March 28, 2006 – 07:04pm (BST)

I suspect there is a difference in the perception of Spring between people who have children and those who haven’t.

El, your birth date polls and date of conception statistics contain truth. So open the lids, oil the wheels and turn on the good old primeval ‘machine’ as Nana would have called it.

Tuesday March 28, 2006 – 10:42pm (EEST)



Σχολιάστε

