***ENVIRO-LORE


.

 

(not folk-lore)

this is what I’m doing with my photos. All of sudden I felt the urge of shouting this out.I do ENVIRO-LORE : the stories inside the environment ~ geography animated as I would tell it as a story to a kid. My landscapes are not «empty». Once upon a time they were inhabited. Now they are waiting to be inhabited again.  Never mind if it’s only for the summer.

So the creek waits for the hiker to cross it and wet his sweaty front. The lonely cove waits for les amoureux. The forest waits for the drunk to sleep after a long night’s fiest. The high rock waits for the daring climber to pose on top and wave the banner of his pride. The angry sea waits for the calm and for the windsurfer to do his tricks. The high mountains wait for me and my friends to go there and shout «iiiiii», sometimes whisper «OM» or sometimes dance the rock’n roll.

I do ENVIRO-LORE here and now. Move on, move on.

The lonely anonymous cove used to have a name in the time of my great-grand father. I’m sure he saw it and said : «nice fish place», or «nice place to hide my little boat».

To Imageme (and Nana and many other *beautiful monsters*) it says: «nice green water; let’s take our clothes off and dive» or «let’s sit behind this funny rock and I’ll tell you a secret«.

.

http://xa.yimg.com/kq/groups/14703744/sn/828040346/name/n_a

I do ENVIRO-LORE.

Secrets.

The more there are, the more there are.

Οσο πιο πολλα ειναι, τοσο πιο πολλα γινονται.

Τοσο πιο καλα ειναι.Image

.

Comments

 

Weave it into a song rhapsodos.

Thursday April 27, 2006 – 01:47pm (PDT)

Agree with the above. Your manifesto moved me, sister-oula. I’ll send you one of my own. It’s about & for the Greek hikers so it will be in Greek only.
Hope you like it, and maybe you reproduce it as an entry in your blog.
BTW, other nations of bipeds out there, there is a name for the long distance hikers. I was told once and then I forgot. «Long-hikers», «tan-hikers», «(?)-hikers». Someone may know. LooOOng distance «cross country», days and nights …oooo

Friday April 28, 2006 – 06:52pm (EEST)

Amen El! Enviro-lore is my favorite lore to hear or read, so let’s all gather round the campfire and share stories.

 

Friday April 28, 2006 – 01:19pm (EDT)

haha -I just asked a friend visiting me and he said that this type of hikers should be called:
*πεζοποροι πετσι & κοκαλο* (=only skin & bone hikers)  :)  <ikarian humour>
But «thru-hikers» is the correct term. I’ve met a couple of those and they were like ascetics, though very young.
(oh no, Nana please don’t…)
There will be more on ENVRIRO-LORE. I had seized the concept long ago but I’ve just invented a word for it. Thanks Ψ for being the first to approve)

Friday April 28, 2006 – 10:54am (PDT)

what «Appalachian trail» goes through Ikaria?
Quote: «No island is an island». Besides Bouconne forest, which other places your trail goes through? In other words, imagine there was no such place called Ikaria and we saw you photos without «tag Ikaria» or «Ikaria #1,2,3…», where would we think this place was?
(I’m asking because I know that you are traveller, or better, «a dreamer of places»).

Sunday April 30, 2006 – 11:39pm (EEST)

Just for interest – I have never heard this term «through-hiker», but then we don’t have such long trails in Britain – like Ikaria, we run out of island too soon – so I think we only have «long distance hikers».

Monday May 1, 2006 – 08:14pm (BST)

The looks of these people… and the strong ties between them. I’m afraid to go on because I don’t want to put ideas in Nana’s head. She is too skinny already. Or is this good for this kind of adventure?
A Greek island’s landscape is very different and demanding. I have seen Swiss who boast as «mountain eaters»  being near (body AND mind) apoplexy hiking in these lands. The sun and the light and the rocks and the changes e.t.c.

Monday May 1, 2006 – 12:32pm (PDT)

I know how they feel. There is an added something in the rocks of Ikaria too. Does things to the head….and the needle of my compass. But it is magnetic and addictive too I think….like your blog.

Tuesday May 2, 2006 – 12:04am (BST)

Αν περπατήσουμε όλο το μήκος της Ικαρίας από το Δράκανο μέχρι τον Κάβο Πάπα θα πάρουμε τον τίτλο «thru-hikers»? Εννοώ χωρίς να κατεβαίνουμε στα χωριά για τη νύχτα. Εντελώς «through», through-out through. Ή μήπως θα αγιάσουμε και στο τέλος θα γίνουμε διάφανοι? Διότι άλλο skinny και άλλο να γίνεις «see through», χα χα
Πάντως πρέπει να είναι τρομερή εμπειρία.
>If we walk the whole length of the mountain range of Ikaria from Drakano to Cape Papas would we win the tile «thru-hikers»? I mean w/o coming down for meals and to spend the night in the villages. Given the roughness and the changes in landscape, the height and the views, it must be a terrific experience. 3-4 days? I’m thnking about this for the summer.

@Ψαλάκανθ娨 as a backacker you will probably have the chance to discover the meaning of the term «island-hopper». A (not very warm) sleeping bag is a ‘must’, as well as the ability to sleep on hard benches in ports and ferries. For me this makes a civilized man: the ability to feel at home and sleep anywhere.

Tuesday May 2, 2006 – 12:50pm (EEST)

When I worked on Ikaria for two summers I had to travel in the night to Samos once a week. I used to be an «island hopper» for a few hours – re-living my first Greek experience – sleeping on the open deck, on a bench, in my «not very warm» sleeping bag. My company would pay for a cabin if I wanted one, but I always preferred the fresh air and the sound of the engines lulling me to sleep and waking up with the taste of salt on my lips.

Tuesday May 2, 2006 – 12:44pm (BST)

Haha, Nana! Civilized indeed.. check out this picture for what is probably the most «civilized» moment of my life:

Too Long

I think that definitely qualifies as thru-hiking🙂 However, as far as the qualifications for saint-hood (that is what αγιάζω means, right?)…

Tuesday May 2, 2006 – 07:56am (EDT)

thank you everybody ! This is what ENVIRO-LORE is about.

An appealing & inviting *wildereness*.

Tuesday May 2, 2006 – 01:32pm (PDT)



Σχολιάστε

