I walk, I hike, I wander


.
Ikaria 020 des
.
.
I walk ( I hike, as they say ), I wander on foot. That’s what I do all day. My hips ache. My lungs sometimes ache too because I’m a smoker; and because I’m half-mad & half Greek, I light my cigarette and I smoke it on the way up -ha,ha,ha🙂
From the heights of my moral Himalayas I look down at everybody. Everybody? I hardly see anybody to look down at. I sometimes see from afar a plougher of a garden or of a vineyard.
.
Gianluca Colla's Ikaria 3830
.
I don’t go near. I don’t know what to say to such people anymore (though once I used to -). To me^^’ they are the Presidents of (another Republic.
My moral altitude bothers me. Wuthering heights… It’s too lonely up here. I’ve gone up too many levels. The ‘Ikarian enigma» is solved. Everything is harmony – but I hate it.
So I look around for spirits (‘gjins’) to keep me company. Thanks Gof, the place is full (as yet). It’s their mating season (gjins are not like humans -all the time-:lol:- gjins mate in April only; in May they stop, because it’s the donkeys’ turn).
They let me take pictures of them.
.

Elsa in Ikaria 2

.

I walk (I hike, as they say), I wander on foot. That’s what I do most days, sometimes on my own, sometimes with friends.

.

Elsa in Ikaria 1

.

.

PorphyrogenitiWhen I am back home, and I’ll have that stupid smile of bliss all over my face, my old neighbour will say «Eleni, you are a Porphyrogenita»!^^’

.

Comments

(7 total)

Does the neighbor mean you are a princess?

Monday April 3, 2006 – 01:27pm (PDT)

correct -:-🙂
in plain (minus the complicated historical background) language, the word means «serene» –

Monday April 3, 2006 – 02:00pm (PDT)

You are too modest

Monday April 3, 2006 – 10:40pm (BST)

serenissima / γαληνότατη, χαίρε !
Όσα ξέρει ο γείτονας/σσα σου για σένα, δεν τα ξέρει κανείς, ούτε ο ήλιος, ούτε κι εσύ. Ευτυχώς για σένα λοιπόν που έχεις γειτόνισσα την τέλεια ‘αντι-κατίνα’, μια ‘γαληνότατη’ της παλιάς σχολής. Είσαι τρομερά τυχερή. Επομένως μην γκρινιάζεις που κόβεται το ρεύμα τόσο συχνά στη γειτονιά σου. Δεν μπορείς να τα έχεις όλα, ε;😉

Tuesday April 4, 2006 – 01:06pm (EEST)

Born in the imperial purple room, yes?

Tuesday April 4, 2006 – 06:33am (PDT)

thanks; yes, born in the purple room!
It’s a strange local tradition to call noble calmness by that name. They say it comes from the times of Byzantium…


A Description of the Present State of Samos, Nicaria, Patmos and Mount Athos by Joseph Georgeinrēnēs Abp. of Samos on Google books It’s a very strange thing for such an island! Click on the page to view it larger and read about the amazing fact!

Tuesday April 4, 2006 – 12:24pm (PDT)



Σχολιάστε

