It’s getting better all the time…


.
Μαρμελάδα βατόμουρο

Readers,
I’m proudly presenting to you a jar of Ikarian wildberry jam (or should I say ‘marmelade‘?) sent as a gift for me by Angelos and Nana
. I don’t put it on my bread; me pig eat it with the spoonfulls like a sweet. What talks had we with Nana and others in the club about those wildberries last February. Because February is the worst… The wildberry talk helped a lot. Wildberries bloom between the thorns of their mother bush in spring, the the fruit gets slowly ripe in summer : white, green, black.

(A very strong Greek myth about life and death and childhood is -among other things- related to wildberries. It’s also a famous enigma. No wikipedia link here. I assume you lettered people know this myth. In case you don’t, no problem; I will gladly relate it in some other entry.)

It’s getting better all the time…
In Ikaria the wheel has spun a joly good round.
While it was so gloomy when I first visited as an adult, now in Flickr for instance, you see photos like

 by Κatie  by Κatie  by Κatie  by Κatie

 by Κatie  by Κatie ston agio Isidoro by PeBro Rahiotes by PeBro

 by fragitsa  by fragitsa  by fragitsa  by fragitsa

i   l o v e   y o u. by fragitsa  by fragitsa silver and gold. by fragitsa  by fragitsa

It’s not about the landscapes and seascapes. There had been great photos before and great minds behind the cameras. I mean the *new* young people and the ambience they generate. This is something new.

At last!

😌


For me these pages is the summer I missed and all the Ikarian summers I miss because I work. And these pages is the bachelors’ party I will probably never have.

.

CIMG1767 glukaki kaneis?


These pages again are the faces I didn’t see when I first came to Ikaria. If I ever get married (*properly*), I’d sure invite them all.
I don’t know these photographers. I’m glad I don’t. The wheel has spun. We are in the same con-*SPIRA*-cy, (piracy?) but I currently inhabit a different quarter of the cycle (**). So the less I know the bette
My cousin Carla in Maratho, Ikariar.

The wheel has spun.
Also my best cousin is visiting. 😍
It’s getting better all the time…

filakia
😚
My cousin Carla at the beach, Ikaria

(**) Instead of wheel and cycle, should I have written «spiral«, Pr Hegel?

(there are links hidden behind the blue letters in this text)

Comments

(6 total)

So you remembered your pionneer days? At that time there was nobody. Then came Elvis and now you have the Beatles!
* It’s getting better all the time… *
What faces in your links ! Pr Hegel’s spiral winds our way now. But still we play «ladders and snakes». But that’s fun!…
And your best cousin Carla is gorgeous!❤

Monday September 18, 2006 – 10:18pm (EEST)

Cycles and circles, they spin and always return to the start, you think you’ve been there before. When things were all wrong me brudda said «it will come full circle» and he was right. But then, did I not progress at all? Hopefully you end up where you started a little bit better all the time.

Tuesday September 19, 2006 – 06:51am (PDT)

Believe in progress? You do? Yes, so do I. Maybe a big lie, but it helps me get out of bed in the morning. Philosopher Hegel put it in terms of «thesis-antithesis-synthesis»; he probably had the same problem; looked for a motivation to get out of bed -:lol
Here in Athens it’s lightly clouded and wet in the mornings. My mood is the same.
Good to see the jam from the fruit of the thorn. You have powerful and influential friends.
The «faces» you link to : As they sit around and socialize in Messakti beach, they remind me of seals on some frozen shore of the arctics ! There is a lot of ritual involved in both seals and humans. Yes, it’s a con -*SPIRA*- cy. The island has improved.
(See? my mood is not all bad…)
On the other hand, I saw a new site about Ikaria, http://www.ikaria.gr/ . It’s Ikaria’s domain name, but I doubt if this site is representative of Ikaria. For starters, when you click the button «camping» in hope of getting a few useful tips, all you get is threats; mind you, not warnings, but real THREATS : do not camp because by such law the whole (!!!) island is an archaeological zone (!!!) and the police raids and persecutes campers every other day (!!!) This can’t be true and fortunately several guests in the site’s guestbook argue against this. «Don’t frighten the people» they say. «There is a lot of free camping in Ikaria and it’s ok as long as the campers respect the environment» . Most of them do now. I have seen it. So I assume the «ikaria.gr» admins own or are related to some big hotel and think campers as concurrents. How wrong! Pushed to the extreme it’s as if the automobile manufacturers said «Do not walk or ride bicycles. It’s illegal!»
Anyway the «you-know-who» camped nice and sleasy «you-know-where» in Ikaria last week. They saw no ancient pillars around and they saw no police. Everybody was very nice to them -as usual in Ikaria; reserved and nice : few words and occasionals bowls with grapes and cactus figs. Sweet September… *Lovely*
I became a member of deviantart.com. Not jealous of your glory in Flickr. I’m just testing the possibilities of the famous old photosite. My address is http://agrimi.deviantart.com/ It’s a free account of course. I doubt if I’m ever going to subscribe for a full account. Now Flickr is a 100 times better as a photosite. However, because Deviantart is much older, the archives are very interesting. I’ve been amusing myself trying to choose the 24 bestest photos taken in Ikaria (though w/o titles I can guess from the landscapes and the backgrounds) and I add them in «my favourites». I have right to only 24 favourites; this is a challenge. Have a look.
Καληημεεερρααα…

Wednesday September 20, 2006 – 10:18am (EEST)

Can’t be progressive if you don’t believe in progress Nana. BTW, the Dene concept of chronology is more circular than linear, hard for me to wrap my mind AROUND that, but perhaps because of how they observed the sun and moon and seasons. Wet and gray in the mornings here too lately, summer seemed to end two weeks ago, but I buoy myself by the fact the rivers are up and the salmon are coming home. Sun, moon, seasons, rivers, salmon: cycles.

Wednesday September 20, 2006 – 07:21am (PDT)

This talking about circles and cycles brought to my mind that according to the Roman and Byzantine calendar, September was the first month of the year : «the begining of the Indices» = η αρχη της Ινδικτου : time to close accounts and plan projects. «Thesis – Antithesis – Synthesis» ; this is a very philosophical month. The new wine is in the jars; we ‘ve got to help it with good ‘n deep thoughts otherwise it will go sour.
filakia
El
@ Nana : Υ.Γ. 1 εχω γινει χοντρη και μ’ αρεσει! 😋
@ Nana : Υ.Γ. 2 οτι θελει να ακουγεται «επισημο» ως Ικαρια (πχ. ‘ikaria.gr’) μοιαζει υποπτο. Σιγα τωρα… «ikaria.gr» … Γιατι; ο καλος τυπος που εφτιαξε το κλασικο http://www.island-ikaria.com πριν απο δεν ξερω ποσα χρονια, δεν ηξερε να κατοχυρωνε το «domain» ? Σιγουρα ηξερε. Αλλα δεν το εκανε. Αυτο κατι σημαινει. Γενικα οι επισημοτητες και οι τυπικοτητες δεν μας ταιριαζουν. Οταν βλεπω τετοια πραγματα, φυλαγομαι. Και στην Ικαρια αλλα και στην Ελλαδα γενικα.

Thursday September 21, 2006 – 12:04am (PDT)

Ok… ok… next thing for you is to write the myth. Let’s hear it. I think the colours of the enigma are «white, red, black».
(I like your blog Eleni. It’s like «Dialogues from Utopia» -minus the manifestos. Thanks.)

Thursday September 21, 2006 – 10:46pm (EEST)



Σχολιάστε

