In a Dilemma


Stavros () is a merchant mariner. He’s been seafaring in the oceans for years and he earns quite a lot of money. Then, now, all of sudden, a shipping agent offers him a job in a small cargo that sails round the coasts of Greece in the Ionian and the Aegean seas. His salary will be much less and he will probably have to say goodbye to his career, but he will be in Greece! In this case, however, I wouldn’t be able to stop working (as I was planning to do some day), because the money he is going to earn, will not be enough for the three of us. It’s not that I mind work, on the contrary; but my work involves a lot of traveling. Therefore, if Stavros accepts the offer, he will stay in Greece, but I will not be there!

What do we do?

1) Stavros moves to Greece and takes the small coaster cargo; I (must) go on working and traveling. Our baby is brought up by his parents. In this case I will miss my baby and I will miss Stavros too. Moreover I will be very jealous of him sailing around the Greek islands without me. I will also miss Greece (though I’m used to this -more or less).

2) Stavros goes seafaring as before; I stop working travels and I live on his money in Greece. I become a good “sailor’s wife”. In this case I will miss Stavros and I will miss my job and my independence.

3) Stavros goes seafaring as before; I work and travel as before. Our baby is brought up by his parents. I will miss my baby, I will miss Stavros, I will miss Greece –everything! But we will be both independent -two very mature individuals.

4) Both of us give up our work and we decide to stay together forever. We will miss our jobs. We will also miss the money.

5) Stavros takes the small coaster. I give up my work –the traveling part. We live on much less money. Maybe I set a household in Ikaria. I will miss Stavros –but not much. I will miss the traveling –but not much. About my job we have the internet but I will miss the thrill –the action in real time. Maybe not much?

What do we do?
solution 1
0
solution 2
0
solution 3
0
solution 4
1
solution 5
11

Comments

(17 total)

To senario 3 mou thymnizei to tragoudi «to Savvato mporeis???nai alla den mporw egw»….
To senario 5 mou fainetai pio pithano….
Enw ta senaria pou eswkleioun anatrofi mwrou apo goneis syzyx mallon ta apokleiw. Me olo to sympatheio pistevw pws kapote tha psaxneis to mwro poy egine enilikas me allounou sinitheies………
Den gnwrizw ti akrivws douleia kaneis alla ean mporeis na tin kaneis mesw diktyou pistevw pws tha se voithisei na megalwseis to «diko»sou mwro…..
Alla telika afto den einai 2-limma einai 5-limma….
Kali dynami se oti apofasi ki an pareis pantws……

Thursday May 3, 2007 – 11:20pm (PDT)

Solution 1: 2 misses + 0,5 (for jealousy) + 0,2 (for missing Greece) = 2,7
Solution 2: 2 misses + 0,5 (loss of independence) = 2, 5
Solution 3: 3 misses = 3
Solution 4: 2 misses (x 2) = 4
Solution 5: 3 x 0,5 misses = 1,5 + 0,5 (for various small misses) = 2

The answer is Solution 5

Friday May 4, 2007 – 10:26am (EEST)

I wish we could reduce our choices to maths like that! Five it is then…
(As a foreigner in France, I know how insoluble these things can be… you of course should pay no attention to us!)
🙂

Friday May 4, 2007 – 12:43pm (CEST)

yes, it’s a stupid rough cut nonsense and Nana was right to point it out with her calculations. It’s typical of her: wild sarcastic irony. Life doesn’t work like this. Yet, putting everything down, helps a lot. And it makes a story too.
Solution 5 is obviously the best, though it will mean a completely DIFFERENT WAY OF LIFE. But we must change. Thus his majesty Sultan Sideris (our baby) decreted…

Friday May 4, 2007 – 01:12pm (PDT)

Changes aren’t permanent Eleni. If number 5 feels right now, then go with it. It can be reviewed in a couple of years when his majesty has grown a little.

PS It is Rowan’s 2nd birthday today – already it has all changed so much since she was Sideris’s age and although my horizon’s haven’t broadened in reality, I feel that in theory they could do so more easily.
Set up a house on Ikaria – it would be a wonderful thing for Sideris. I will be very jealous though, as I would love to do the same with Rowan!

Friday May 4, 2007 – 10:59pm (BST)

Ikaria is more than enough a thrill for you. You have proved it to the world with this blog! And we wouldn’t mind one more «good sailor’s wife» over here. So I voted for sol. # 5. A question put is a question solved.
(my selfish motive: nobody else cooks so delicious «pommes frites» -lol:)

Saturday May 5, 2007 – 11:20pm (EEST)

No. 5, because I want to see your images of Ikaria again… and because it seems that is the address of your soul.

Monday May 7, 2007 – 11:16am (PDT) Remove Comment

Thank you friends! The desicion (nr. 5) is almost 1/2-taken and growning (3/5s, 4/5s and on). I just wanted to see how it sounds. Both Stavros and I have been succesful in our careers and we have struggled since very young for that. But now that safety and money is near, Stavros is afraid that though maybe a captain, he may soon become alcoholic. And me, though maybe soon a TV producer, I’ll get in cocaine!.. It’s just how the story goes.
(I don’t mention Sideraki. When we are happy he is happy, might this be on the moon -:))
So i will settle in Ikaria. (I can’t believe i’m writing this -thank you) and maybe I will stageset RPGs like: imagine you are the wicked weasel and I am a wicked chicken… bla bla.

Too many ‘maybes’? Yes. But as some old wiseguy said, when a woman says ‘maybe’, she means ‘yes’. No? (ha ha)

f i l a k i a

Thursday May 10, 2007 – 12:26pm (PDT)

Make it soon Eleni. I want to come back to Ikaria in Sept / Oct and maybe our two babies can meet and be friends….

Thursday May 10, 2007 – 10:40pm (BST)

It so happened I walked by «the barn» today…

Saturday May 12, 2007 – 09:17pm (EEST)

No.5, of course! Confess it Eleni! We are all your friends, now you can tell it: you planned it well. It was a perfect plan and it succeeded. Brava! Baci. Vi verrò a trovare.

Wednesday May 16, 2007 – 01:47am (CEST)

That’s funny Jimmy -I was thinking of you! If (I say, ‘if’) Stavros takes the job, he will have to sail the small vessel to Bari as well. Have you ever sailed across the east side of the Mediterranean in a «Motor-Ship» sailing almost at sea level? Are you a hard drinker and never get seasick? I may arrange so that you have a free ride. (‘if’, I say ‘if’)

bacci

Wednesday May 16, 2007 – 02:49am (PDT)

No if
Tell Stavros that he have a friend on the west side of the adriatic sea, either or not he will take the job. When he’ll be here in Bari he just have to knock at my door and I’ll give him a warm welcome and a free ride in my town, dangerous and risky more than sailing in a motorship.

un bacione alla famiglia
P

Friday May 18, 2007 – 02:22am (CEST)

I’m in for a ride with Jimmy. Helmets are not against the law in the south of Italy, are they?

Friday May 18, 2007 – 10:31pm (EEST)

I advise you to wear a solid one. Come Nanà, but don’t worry: I’ll protect you.

Sunday May 20, 2007 – 04:44pm (CEST)

Glad you have chosen solution nr 5 . I would have chosen the same. Hope this fits best to your future plans.Good luck Elle

Wednesday May 23, 2007 – 12:24am (PDT)

Και η Λαμπρινή που διαβασε τα καθεκαστα, μου εγραψε μειλ και ειπε:

_________________________________________

«Διάβασα σήμερα το blog σου, όπου γράφεις για την δουλειά του άντρα σου και την δική σου. Εγώ ψηφίζω την λύση νούμερο 5. Είναιη πιο φιλική προς τον γιο σας. Πιστεύω, ότι σε έχει ανάγκη πολύ. Λείπει ο μπαμπάς, μην του λείψεις κι εσύ. Καλή η γιαγιά και ο παππούς, αλλά δεν είναι το ίδιο.
Αργότερα, όταν θα μεγαλώσει, θα αναζητάει τον χρόνο, που θα νιώθει, ότι του χρωστάς. Θα είναι δύσκολο να αναπληρώσεις το κενό.
Δεν έχω παιδί, ίσως να μην μου πέφτει λόγος, αλλά το έχω δει σε άλλες οικογένειες. Δεν εκφράζομαι εύκολα με λόγια, αλλά παρατηρώ και διαισθάνομαι πάρα πολλά. Ίσως να κλειστείς για κάποια χρόνια και να σου λείψουν τα ταξίδια, και χρήματα, αλλά θα κάνεις πολύ πιο καλή «επένδυση».
Την χαρά στην ψυχή του γιου σας… και σαν συνέπεια αυτού και στην δική σου. Κανένα υλικό αγαθό δεν μπορεί να την αναπληρώσει. Είναι σημαντικό να εκτιμούμε το εδώ και τώρα. Τίποτα δεν μπορούμε να διορθώσουμε στο μέλλον. Το δίλημμα το είχες σχεδόν πριν 2 χρόνια και αν κατάλαβα καλά, μάλλον δουλεύεις μακριά τα καλοκαίρια και είσαι σπίτι τον χειμώνα. Εύχομαι πραγματικά να τα βγάζεις πέρα και να έχεις δύναμη και κουράγιο! Σίγουρα δεν είναι εύκολο.»

(1η Μαρτη 2009)

Sunday March 1, 2009 – 12:10pm (PST)



Σχολιάστε

