Days of Meltemi


.

.

It’s not a writer’s block; it’s lobotomy. Look at the waves as they go up and down at dusk after the wind has died out. So fully they wash the mind from thoughts. This is the meltemi, the Etesian winds of the ancients. In the morning the mountains are clouded and the tourists wonder, “Is it going to rain?” Of course not. This is only wind, friendly breeze; full of good vapor, makes the land go wet and cool down. Cleans the beach from cigarette buts; provides good sleep as well and sweet dreams –my friend, the northwestern Maistros. Blow on blow on. Bring me news.

***Sorry AKK, I didn’t fulfill your request to broadcast the “Play Safe with Waves -3/1 rule of thumb” in this entry. I wanted to. Because I understand the need for some safety. But as soon as I uploaded the photo, I got carried away. And you know…, a thought crossed my mind; as a sailor’s wife maybe I shouldn’t think or talk about playing with the waves anymore. It’s not for decency’s sake. It’s superstition! Let Nana and the others do that for me from now on. Non?

f i l a k i a  ♥
40 wa cu Slide Shows.S. . .

   

. . .

   

. . .

   

. . .

   

. . .

   

. . .

   

. . .

Comments

(6 total)

«Φύσα Μαϊστρο δροσερέ κι αέρα του πελάγου να πας τα χαιρετίσματα στου Σιδερή τη μάνα…» Sunday July 15, 2007 – 10:27am (EEST)
these days when the wind blows they say «oh it’s gonna catch fire! oh it’s gonna be no ferry! oh it’s gonna be no swim!. Anf when it’s cloudy they say «oh it’s gonna rain!» And when it’s hot, they say etc. But you (and Nana in her own wild funny way) say, WE LOVE IT! To you the wind brings news. To Nana it dries the sweat from under her breasts. How can you fight against MASS PHOBIAS? sO bravely ~ hope-making *machines* Monday July 16, 2007 – 10:09pm (EEST)
Thanks guys. I love you all – I’m sitting here miserable cos I’ve hurt my back, then I switch on this machine and AKK makes me laugh about cyanide in tsipouro, and the girls celebrate the wind…. I feel better already! Monday July 16, 2007 – 10:34pm (BST)
@ AKK = meltemi wind «dries the sweat from under my breasts»? (quoting Eleni) OH LALA! Tuesday July 17, 2007 – 03:24pm (EEST)
@Jude: oh dear Jude, get well soon! Our small circus is here for you to provide distraction for the mind so that the body and soul are left in peace and they heal – x @AKK: go thank somebody else. as you know we don’t have any other choice. we can’t help but being *hope-making-machines*. It’s our kishmet. @Athina: I am not given «dirty compliments» like that anymore. I am considered «respectable» now. @AKK: «Sweat under the breasts»! ha ha ha -:)) oh boys!.. What flavour? Apricot? With cyanide or without? Tuesday July 17, 2007 – 12:57pm (PDT)

speaking of kishmet I remembered our blog friend ‘Can’ who wrote to me the other day and said that «Meltem» is a common female name in Turkey. I suppose it’s something like «Breeze» (the Americans like this name a lot) or the Greek Avra (Αύρα). It is good to know that the name has a positive sense verified by tradition. So when the meltemi spoils your beach days, think of it as a beautiful woman and …take the mountains! Go hiking. By the way, does anybody remember this incredible picture? It’s was a gift by the makers of the play and it features in the hikingIkaria group files. We have talked about it already in the past.

Tuesday July 17, 2007 – 01:06pm (PDT)

3 σχόλια on “Days of Meltemi”

  1. Ο/Η angelosk λέει:

    I know you are not as jealous anymore. Would you call her ‘meltem’?

    Καλό Καλοκαίρι!

    Αρέσει σε 5 άτομα

  2. Ο/Η Eleni λέει:

    Just to let any follower of my blog know that I have upgraded some of the pictures and loaded them to Flickr. Free not only you body. Free your soul in the new year. Whenever you have the chance, follow the 40 waves cure!*

    Ikaria 212

    Ikaria 088

    Ikaria 046

    Ikaria 087

    Ikaria 037

    Ikaria 180

    Ikaria 208

    Ikaria 191

    Ikaria 091

    Ikaria 090

    Ikaria 284

    Ikaria 086

    * when you feel weary, loaded with thousands of small nameless sins, when you feel you have “lost yourself” or “lost God” or the meaning of life, etc. etc., the right thing to do is to go through the 40 waves. Walk in the sea as far from the land as your feet hardly touch bottom. Stay there and let the surf cover your head forty times. It has to be all in once and you can’t take breaks, otherwise you have to start from the begining. The sea cleans dirt and takes away all kinds of small trouble

    Αρέσει σε 4 άτομα


Σχολιάστε

