Here, Let Me Stand


Ikaria 231
Εδώ ας σταθώ. Κι ας δω κ’ εγώ την φύσι λίγο.


Comments

view profile

mountain ash2005 says:

What a beautiful shot of a peaceful morning….

view profile

simonsterg Pro User says:

coO0ool!
Is that mist rolling down the side of Kerkis?
How does it seem so close?

view profile

isl_gr Pro User says:

(added notes)
the poem where the Greek title is from goes on and says something like «… in the morning hour everything looks beautiful and BIG.»

«όλα ωραία και μεγάλα…»

‘mountain ash’ did you recognize the poem and the poet?
Alexandria? sweet gay guy? eeh?

view profile

simonsterg Pro User says:

…aha! (seeing notes) – now I feel foolish – I had wondered if you had suddenly found a telephoto…

view profile

mountain ash2005 says:

I don’t know the poem El, but I have seen early mornings like these – mainly when I am leaving the island, so they are always poignant and very beautiful. And everything seems big, and it is impossible to believe that this is being left behind…. (I will try and find the poem now!)

view profile

Tragopodaros says:

I am lost for words at this one; it has all of Ikaria for me….

view profile

cheeseontaoist says:

Excellent picture, it dwarfs all my pictures of the same subject….

view profile

angeloska says:

@ you have a sure foot ! How high up you stood there (to repeat a comment on Ikaria 233) ? Why does everything look so beautifully distorted?

@ » Εδώ ας σταθώ κι ας δω κ’ εγώ τη φύσι λίγο.

Θάλασσας του πρωϊού κι ανέφελου ουρανού

λαμπρά μαβιά και κίτρινη όχθη. Όλα

ωραία και μεγάλα φωτισμένα.

Εδώ ας σταθώ. Κι ας γελασθώ πως βλέπω αυτά

(τα είδ’ αλήθεια μια στιγμή σαν πρωτοστάθηκα)

κι όχι κ’ εδώ τες φαντασίες μου,

τες αναμνήσεις μου, τα ινδάλματα της ηδονής.»

Sooo cool El … From all the people ONLY YOU could call the poet K.P. Kavafis a «sweet gay guy» !!!

view profile

mountain ash2005 says:

Morning Sea

Let me stop here. Let me, too, look at nature awhile.

The brilliant blue of the morning sea, of the cloudless sky,

the shore yellow; all lovely,

all bathed in light

Let me stand here. And let me pretend I see all this

(I actually did see it for a minute when I first stopped)

and not my usual day-dreams here too,

my memories, those sensual images.

Constantine P. Cavafy

I didn’t connect to Kavafis the other evening, but I should have picked it up from your comment El. Anyway, I found a translation….perhaps not an accurate one, but it still fits your picture perfectly.

view profile

isl_gr Pro User says:

@ simonsterg : I tell you the islands are like a mountain range sunk. Didi you know? They say that the caves of the prehistoric man are now under the sea.
@ trag : it’s because your land base is in Armenistis and this is a ‘bye-bye’ picture as ‘mountain ash’ pointed out.
@cheeseontaoist : can’t beat a Lomo ! I just found myself in the right spot the right time.
@ angeloska : 1) sure have a sure foot ! What would I be doing in Ikaria if I didn’t… 2) And I’d call Seferis «fat moody guy», ok? What’s your problem?
@ mountain ash : This is one of my most very best poems ever. Kavafis was a 100% urban poet. This is the only verses he wrote about nature, that it was like a vision to him and still the most real even if it lasted for a few secs. (the translation is somehow ‘puritan’ -there should be a better one)
@ everybody : THANKS A LOT

view profile

Tragopodaros says:

No, its much more than that for me – you have captured the heights and depths and mysteries (hidden in the folds) of the island.

view profile

Tragopodaros says:

Yes, «puritan» is an interesting term to use about a translation, but actually, Ashy, it is possibly TOO accurate. O Trag will now be inspired to do his own…at…some…point.

view profile

simonsterg Pro User says:

Now I know that cavemen strolled between Atheras and Kerkis, stopping off briefly to sketch a mamoth in the valley, I feel better.
But this is a side salad because…
►►►
live translation of poetry is happening on this page!
►►►
will it be loud and brash or louche and limpid??
►►►
watch this space!

view profile

Tragopodaros says:

And keep watching, as patiently as the poet.
Posted 14 months ago.

view profile

isl_gr Pro User says:

see if you can give a close translation to the «indalmata tis idonis» (idols/visions/models of physical/sensual pleasure ?) and I’ll be down on my knees.
I *really discovered nature* an early morning long ago as I was out and escaping from a lover’s bed who I had idealized too much.

I like to think that *sweet gay guy* had probably found himself in the same situation with a boyfriend down in Alexandria in the 1910s. He left the room and *wow* what did he see? dawn in the gulf of Alexandria !

view profile

mountain ash2005 says:

so it signifies a different kind of leaving too – but also new beginnings. We’ve all been there….

view profile

Tragopodaros says:

Here, let me stand. Let me stand here awhile
and see for myself this natural world.
The morning sea, a cloudless sky,
the glistening blue, the yellow strand.

All so perfect, vast and bright.

Let me fool myself I see all this
(for in truth, I saw it all at once)
and not those things imagined, here:
my memories, the baubles of indulgence.

view profile

simonsterg Pro User says:

░░░░░░░░░
loud applause
░♪░░░░♪░░
Posted 14 months ago.

view profile

mountain ash2005 says:

Bravo Trago!! I knew you would rise to the challenge….. You don’t disappoint, & your version far outstrips the other.
Posted 14 months ago.

view profile

simonsterg Pro User says:

… and you posted it in the small hours… did ‘baubles of indulgence’ come in a flash or were there lots of screwed up balls of paper and empty beer bottles on the desk? Whichever, Atheras and Kerkis bow down and underwater Mammoths trumpet!
(but will girl s be satisfied??)
Posted 14 months ago.

view profile

angeloska says:

from me too, Bravo Trago !
Posted 14 months ago.

view profile

Tragopodaros says:

We’ll just wait for El, then.
Posted 14 months ago.

view profile

isl_gr Pro User says:

pls make some room here friends; this is a shot taken a month ago with Trag in my mind and loaded tonight again specially for Trag. Take it *da man* and drive it to the clouds :-)) x El

Ikaria 234

P.S. *da man* or *ye da man* is an abbreviation of a friendly *you there man* (like the Greek, ρε συ). I learned it from the Africans in Athens and Pireus. Like they, so do I use it for my equals and friends to show them my affection, respect and admiration w/o sounding like a pompous *malakas*
Posted 14 months ago.

view profile

Tragopodaros says:

Okay, thanks El that is the best gift you could give….wish I had taken this shot.

Thanks all. I did the whole thing inside half and hour, but had to wait until the wee hours to get enough peace. The baubles bit was about ten minutes and yes a few crossings out, but no screwed-up paper.

I feel like I have hijacked El’s page now…
Posted 14 months ago.

view profile

mountain ash2005 says:

Not hijacked, just complimented.
Posted 14 months ago.

view profile

angeloska says:

complimented indeed – because El doesn’t like garbidge and wrecked cars unless they are piled or parked orderly, or I don’t know how, like in:
www.flickr.com/photos/isl_gr/96890349/
Posted 14 months ago.

view profile

isl_gr Pro User says:

no, no, it’s ok. It’s just that I didn’t have a boy brother. But I can understand the art in *broken dolls on piles of rags* very well.
Posted 14 months ago.

view profile

Peppetta says:

Mount Atheras: the cloud maker.
I rimember in a perfect blue sky day the clouds appear on the top of the highest peak, coming from nowhere.
A kind of magic?
Posted 13 months ago.

view profile

isl_gr Pro User says:

*the early bird catches the worm*
(missed you Pep; I was looking through your favorite pics just yeasterday. Very Good taste and not too much *glamour photography* -though an Italian -lol)
Posted 13 months ago.

view profile

Peppetta says:

I misssssed you too El
thank you dear but …what a shame! there are too much naked women pictures in my favorites!
Posted 13 months ago.

view profile

isl_gr Pro User says:

Oh, I didn’t mind ‘Pep’. I’m not going to make a scene on you here ((in front of all the people). Let’s just stand and watch the nature, as the poet suggests, shall we?
Posted 13 months ago.

view profile

Peppetta says:

I LIKE nature!

Comments

(2 total) Post a Comment

after a yellow goat pested land, you give us sapphires! your favorite gems and colors -:))

Tuesday July 31, 2007 – 11:44pm (EEST) Remove Comment

Ωραία τα ζαφείρια, αλλά πειράζει που ο Καβάφης κι εγώ δεν τα πάμε καλά;

Wednesday August 1, 2007 – 06:37pm (EEST)



Σχολιάστε

