page from my notebook (Ikaria, September 10, 2007)


There are vipers in Ikaria this summer.

This is rare

Vipers are usually found in drier, stonier and sunnier islands. Some say it’s because we have had a mild winter and a fine hot summer. Others say that there as few vipers as always, but because of the heat during the day they go near the houses to enjoy the water, the shade etc. Maybe this is why we see them around at night. This is rare too. I didn’t know viper snakes could see at night. Nana associates the fact with the lack of wasps this summer. Besides garbage, yellow jacket wasps eat a lot of insects and spiders, she says. Without wasps around, the vipers have taken this task.

Nana is a chick 100 years back, 100 years ahead; I have to look after her -:lol

There are also the grapes.

Photo by SpirosK © All rights reserved.

Everybody is busy with the grapes actually. Others still collecting, others making their wine, others worrying about the wine –if the must is going to take a good turn. It was a very hot June and July and many grapes became like dry currants: sour and without juice, useless. But the ones in more elevated and shaded places survived. The wine of the year 2008 will be very strong like dynamite.

rare muscat Ikaria

This is another thing people worry about. It’s hard to “make” a strong wine. It can “loose its way”. This what I hear (eavesdropping).

Inside Maneta's cellar 1  Inside Maneta's cellar 2

There is a mystic thing about the wine making process and women are sort of excluded from it. I am allowed to eavesdrop, though. Maybe it’s because I’m breastfeeding and I don’t have my period yet. Whatever…

We are leaving for Athens tomorrow. Nana wanted to vote (!..) I wanted to see Stavros (that was a figure of speech -in fact I wanted to be his slave for a while).

~also do some shopping for autumn…

Comments

(5 total)

So, we miss you again Eleni. We arrive on Ikaria as you leave (almost)….I so much wanted Rowan and Sideraki to meet – maybe one day they will! I hear we will be arriving to chaos, but never mind as all will be normal again before we go. We leave on the 22nd – I don’t suppose you will be back? xx

Monday September 10, 2007 – 11:16pm (BST)

«Nana is a chick 100 years back, 100 years ahead»
I like that! So she is the perfect contemporary *chick* χαχαχα!..

Tuesday September 11, 2007 – 02:37pm (EEST)

Ah Jude! What could I do? Stavros and Nana wanted it. Nana felt a strong urge to campaign for the ecogreens and Stavros got a short leave and begged me to be in Athens. We are slaves of each other.

Thursday September 13, 2007 – 04:18am (PDT)

I understand. Ikaria has made me a slave to herself and others and I am also pulled from time to time. When you go back there, Rowan has left a small token for Sideraki, it will find its way to him.

Sunday September 23, 2007 – 09:59pm (BST)

WHAT? Rowan left a token for Sideraki in Ikaria? I have to get back from Athens (and my escape from there to the Middle Ages🙂 very soon!

Monday September 24, 2007 – 12:48pm (PDT)


One Comment on “page from my notebook (Ikaria, September 10, 2007)”

  1. […] Yet… when we are nervous, especially us girls… can be mistaken sometimes […]

    Αρέσει σε 2 άτομα


Σχολιάστε

