The Scholarship – Η Υποτροφια


.

Αμοργός by Eleni Ikanou on Flickr


The Scholarship **

 While I was studying I almost suffered a total physical and mental breakdown and a nicotine poisoning as well. Until one day, coming back from the tabac shop, I found my room locked with a locket. Outside my room stood my grandmother with a waist-purse in hand. “Take this. You’ll find 50.000 drachmas in it and your papers. You’ll also find an Olympic Airlines ticket to Greece. In Pereus there’s a ticket to Ikaria waiting for you at the So&So travel agency. I don’t want to see you earlier than two months from now.” That was all she said, and spoke no more.

I grabbed a dress from the pile with the dirty laundry, a jean jacket from the hanger on the corridor, my beauty case and put it all inside an old military sack that belonged to my father, and fled. I wasn’t even wearing underwear. I was only worried for my flip-flops which were too old and I was afraid they’d tear. And indeed one of them tore, not in Brusseld – thank God – but at Athens airport. I threw them away and stepped on Greek soil barefooted with my head empty smiling like an idiot.

When later I tried to recall the details of that summer, my efforts went in vain. The only thing I recall – probably because it was completely against my nature – was that I couldn’t speak. My grandma who besides being a Bolshevik, was also a Christian and a bit of a witch, while sending me away in that horrid silence of hers something did to me and “struck me dumb.”

I worshipped my grandma and she worshipped me. The conctents of the waist-purse where my scholarship to be able to flee. But the dumbness was a gift to be able to feel the life, so that I wouldn’t die, so that I would live.

Instead of focusing on my mind, I focused on my body and especially… on my feer. Back then there was still in Evdilos a shoe-shop that had shoes piled on the floor. I bought all kinds of absurd, men’s sandals and galoshes. I knocked about the island wearing them, dudes, I literally tore them apart walking!

I suffered a sunstroke twice until the light gradually conquered the demon inside me and while drunk in a fair, I got my speech again, my laghter, my cry. This was exactly 40 days after I had left home. It was back in 1992.

—————
** integral text-
Ελένη Ικάνου

Published on friends’ request in a contest at 


.
.

.☼☼

Η Υποτροφια **

Οταν σπουδαζα καποτε κινδινεψα να παθω γενικο colapsus, σωματικο και ψυχικο, επισης και δηλητηριαση απο νικοτινη. Ωσπου μια μερα, επιστρεφοντας απο το tabac, βρηκα το δωματιο μου κλειδωμενο με λουκετο. Απ’ εξω με περιμενε η γιαγια μου με ενα τσαντακι ‘μπανανα» στο χερι. «Παρε αυτο. Εχει μεσα 50.000 δραχμες και τα χαρτια σου. Εχει κι ενα εισιτιριο Ολυμπιακης για την Ελλαδα. Στον Πειραια στο ταδε πρακτοριο σε περιμενει ενα εισιτηριο για Ικαρια. Δεν θελω να σε ξαναδω πριν περασουν δυο μηνες.» Αυτα ειπε και δεν ξαναμιλησε.

Πηρα ενα φουστανι απο τα απλυτα, ενα τζην τζακετ απο τη κρεμαστρα στο διαδρομο και το νεσεσερ μου απο το μπανιο, τα εβαλα σε μια παλιο σακ βουαγιαζ στυλ μιλιτερ του πατερα μου, και την εκανα. Ουτε εσωρουχα δεν φορουσα. Ανησυχουσα μονο για τις σαγιοναρες μου, μηπως κοπουν, γιατι ηταν πολυ παλιες. Και πραγματι κοπηκε η μια, ευτυχως οχι στις Βρυξελες, αλλα στο αεροδρομιο της Αθηνας. Τις πεταξα και πατησα το Ελληνικο εδαφος ξυπολητη και με το μυαλο μου αδειο χαμογελωντας σαν ηλιθια.

Ματαια προσπαθησα αργοτερα να θυμηθω τις λεπτομερειες εκεινου του καλοκαιριου. Το μονο που θυμαμαι -γιατι ηταν εντελως εναντιο στη φυση μου- ηταν οτι δεν μπορουσα να μιλησω. Η γιαγια μου που εκτος απο μπολσεβικα, ηταν και χριστιανη και μαζι λιγακι μαγισα, με την τρομερη, αβασταχτη της σιωπη καθως με εδιωχνε, κατι μου εκανε και «μου πηρε τη λαλια».

Τη λατρεβα τη γιαγια μου και με λατρεβε κι εκεινη. Τα περιεχομενα της μπανανας ηταν υποτροφια για να μπορεσω να φυγω. Η αλαλια ομως ηταν δωρο για να νιωσω τη ζωη, για να μη πεθανω και για να ζησω.

Αντι για το μιαλο μου, επικεντρωθηκα στο σωμα μου και ειδικα …στα ποδια μου. Τοτε ακομα ηταν ενα απιστευτο μαγαζι στο Ευδηλο που ειχε παπουτσια σε σωρους στο πατωμα. Αγορασα διαφορα κουλα αντρικα πεδιλα και μποτες εργατικες. Φοροντας τις, αλονισα το νησι, μιλαμε μαγκες, το εφαγα με το κουταλι!..

Δυο φορες επαθα ηλιαση ωσπου το φως σκοτωσε σιγα-σιγα το δαιμονα και σε ενα πανιγιρι μεθυσμενη ξαναβρηκα τη λαλια μου, το γελιο και το κλαμα μου. Αυτο εγινε στις ακριβως 40 μερες απο τοτε που εφυγα απο το σπιτι μου. Το ετος ηταν το 1992.

…………….
** αυτοτελες κειμενο –
Ελένη Ικάνου

Ikaria 075

Δημοσιευτηκε κατα παρακληση φιλων σε διαγωνισμο στο

.

.


One Comment on “The Scholarship – Η Υποτροφια”

  1. Ο/Η elinalafina λέει:
    .
    .
    .
    Κι εμένα «μου πήρε τη λαλιά’😮 για λίγη ώρα η μαγική σου ιστορία και η φωτογραφία!

    .

    I roll Ikaria!

    .
    🙂❤

    Αρέσει σε 5 άτομα


Σχολιάστε

