Trail Network Shutdown


(Press for Greek)

It’s not a good day today.

This is the mail I received from a dearest friend this morning with the request to post in my blog. I couldn’t help adding some pictures as a tribute to the past and testimony of a great work that has come to an end.

Here it goes:

Ikarian pathman Hello, my name is Angelos K.

As some of you may know, I have been the designer and administrator of an expanded network of hiking trails in Ikaria for over 15 years. However, today, with mixed feelings of grief and relief I am shutting down the project. Unfortunately I can’t afford to work anymore without recognition and substantial support from the locals and the local authorities. It was my mistake to suppose that such a thing would happen in the course of time. Yet, my initiative, despite it’s success, remained unperceived even by those who drew a direct profit from it every year (hotel and restaurant owners etc.).

I just can’t do it anymore.

Ikaria 324 Posing as cairn and landmark by angeloska Ikaria 305

Brushes at rest by angeloska x2 by angeloska Proud sign makers by egotoagrimi

The project was never supported by the central government and I have come to the end of my financial means and physical strength.

Show me the way- # 9 by angeloska Trail marker by Haydar Show me the way- # 8 by angeloska

pinelo & velaki by angeloska Ikaria 170 ΟΠΣ Ικαρίας 050 by angeloska

I am aware the shutdown of planned hiking in Ikaria will make us a poorer island from many points of view. On the other hand, as things as with tourism in Ikaria, it’s likely that only few people will notice the fact and even fewer will know the cause.

Volunteer group photo 1 by angeloska Collective Souvenir Pose at the "Fangs" by angeloska Volunteer Group photo 2 by angeloska

log 2nd, take #1 by angeloska Ku the Volunteer in the rain by angeloska Ξέφωτο με εργάτες και 'κούκο' by angeloska

Therefore starting from spring the main signs at the beginnings of the trails will be removed and the map will go out of sale (*). It would be the responsible thing to do as, despite the efforts of several friends, the paths haven’t been maintained and the marking hasn’t been refreshed for a long period of time, so in many cases trails have become too difficult or impassable.

New sign in canyon by angeloska guidance by simonsterg Studying the map by Lambrini

The New Round of Rahes on Foot by angeloska ...? by kukuvalou  by mualpha

The good side, however, of the shutdown is that I and my occasional helpers would be free to work without stress “behind the scenes”, like when a shop closes down but the team stays ans works inside. After all, in either case, open or closed, no-one was paid.

trail Rahes-Manganitis, day 2 by angeloska my assistant by angeloska x3 by angeloska

Sweeping stones by angeloska This kind of shot by angeloska Angelos and Yorgos by angeloska

Ikaria is still and as always a beautiful natural island and hiking is by far the best way to know it. In my heart the shutdown will be temporary. The amount of money that is needed for a restart is small. If it is given to the project with with good faith and in some more or less permanent basis, via, for example, the Mountain Climbing and Hiking Club of Ikaria, the signs will be up again and a new hiking map will be published, that will cover, as it is due, the whole of Ikaria and not only a part.

We shall always walk.

Thank you very much

Angelos

(*) I am not giving up the copyrights of the traced routes and the map.

I have nothing to say or add other than that someone cannot be a volunteer for 17 years!

The Ikarians must read about it so Nana put up this announcement in the original Greek in her blog very soon.

Bye for now

Eleni


10 σχόλια on “Trail Network Shutdown”

  1. Ο/Η Angelos Ka λέει:

    Thank you for posting and thank you for not indulging and say you feel sorry. You know as well as I do that I feel more relief than grief. And because it was a life’s work I could even write down the exact percentage.

    x

    Αρέσει σε 3 άτομα

  2. Ο/Η simonsterg λέει:

    Well, they are wonderful paths and so colourfully and carefully created – but enough is enough. But, once again, thank you Angelos!🙂

    Μου αρέσει!

  3. Ο/Η simonsterg λέει:

    I was sorry I couldn’t make it, so I’m pleased to be making a brief appearance!😉

    Μου αρέσει!

  4. Ο/Η Girl Kyabram λέει:

    It is my first visit to Ikaria. I have noticed these red dots with great interest. It is indeed very difficult to hike around Ikaria with no map or direction if you are traveling alone like me. Near impossible! All I can say is thank you so much Angelos for trying so hard and caring about this magical island. I really hope some organisations, government, etc wake up to themselves and give you the much needed and deserved funds & recognition.

    Μου αρέσει!

  5. Ο/Η angelosk λέει:

    Thank you for your kind words! It was exactly for people like you that the project was developed and it’s always great to have feedback about it. I don’t know if organisations or the government will ever care. For the time being, it is enough for all of us who are involved in the work to see that our friends and friends of friends are using the network and walk the paths. There were so fewer hikers in the early years but now it tends to become a local sport.

    The harder and longer, the better🙂

    Erifi - Trapalou 18

    Thank you again!

    Αρέσει σε 3 άτομα


Σχολιάστε

