No Gas Til Tuesday (1)


_Blog Review Ikaria 2012 # 9 The Explorers (1a)_

.

Are done with the longevity thing yet? It seems so. At least I didn’t hear they wrote «WELCOME TO THE ISLAND OF LONGEVITY» on the wavebreakers or the air control tower. I think the noise is dimming to something like «Ikaria is a special, ancient and very natural island» -something that makes more sense, don’t you agree? No problem with anthropologists, it’s been ages since we boiled one in our cauldrons…

cauldron

Yet, in my opinion, our «special, ancient and very natural island» calls more for explorers.

Our explorers are usually careful not to project their own realities over a place and many are those who devote a lot of time and energy to search every pocket and fold. Our explorers take risks. Some of them too, the most admirable, share their adventures with you and me on the web. That kind of people I had in mind when I started this set of blog entries. Thinking about it, I could have just reblogged, but no, I said. I believed that my first champions, Danae, Ikaroia, Jernej and Johanna, deserved more than to recommend a link and perhaps also decorate it with a sample photo. Since then, several tributes have been paid and now, five years after, the experience has expanded. Don’t ask me how, yet it’s a fact. Some of of my explorers have chosen to live on the island!

Dear readers, today I am proudly presenting to you Greek/American Jackie, author of nogastiltuesday, who decided to leave the States with her three children and live for one year in Ikaria, the island where her father was born and has a home.

I am a mother of three and a teacher by trade. I was born and raised in Pittsburgh, PA, and now, my family lives in Lancaster, PA. For the next year we are going to live in the village of Karavostamo, Ikaria, Greece. My philosophy on life? Check things off of your bucket list! What are a few things on my bucket list? Speak greek fluently Live in Greece Enrich my children’s lives

Don’t say you weren’t puzzled by the strange name of her blog? The explanation is in one of her first entries, also pinned also at the top of her home page. The point is that instead of being daunted by that good example of «greek ways», she was challenged and some years later she came looking for more. She came to understand. Explore and understand the land, the people, the culture, the nature, everyday life, the four seasons, the weather, the language and so much more. Explore, understand, appreciate and teach her three adorable children to appreciate as well.

I am a mother myself so I am familiar with the task. However, I shouldn’t identify and add my personal touch. I’d rather let Jackie speak on her own through the entries of her wonderful blog that I chose for you in today’s review.

«No Gas Til Tuesday» comes like a diary. In an experiential and direct way, Jackie writes often twice and three times every week and that over a period of several months! And I am not counting the bulky comment exchange under each entry! It would be impossible for me (and probably for WordPress) to load all the entries I have chosen in one page. Perforce I have divided the material in two parts: The first part (1a) is Summer 2012  and the second part (1b) includes Autumn, Winter, Spring and part of Summer 2012-13.

As always, a selection of the blogger’s own words appear when you move your mouse over the highlighted links to the pages as well as over the photos.

There we go through Jackie’s Summer 2012 (1a) :

____

____

____

____

____

____

____

____

____

____

____

____

____

____

____

____

____

Let this very touching entry be the last from Jackie’s blog for now.

She has talked there about two feelings that I am afraid I know too well.

The Greeks have invented the richest and most beautiful words for them:

Mελαγχολία and Νοσταλγία.

I could write an essay about the topic here and now, yet WP started to jam on me. I’ve got to go. See you in a few weeks with more No Gas Til Tuesday.

Note : As I have said many times before in my reviews, comments and credits should be adressed to the bloggers, not to me! As far as I am concerned, all I want is to send more readers to these amazing people -my explorers. All I wish is that my choices are good.

.


3 σχόλια on “No Gas Til Tuesday (1)”

  1. Ο/Η jandcfox λέει:

    Σας ευχαριστώ για τα όμορφα λόγια σας για το blog μου. Είναι τιμή μου που γράψατε για μένα. Ότι έζησα εδώ για ένα χρόνο ήταν το καλύτερο πράγμα που έχω κάνει ποτέ, και δεν θέλω να φύγω. Είμαι πολύ λυπημένη που σε τέσσερις εβδομάδες θα είμαι πίσω στην Αμερική. Δεν ξέρω πώς θα είναι όταν επιστρέψω στη ζωή που είχα. Θα μου λείψουν πολύ η θάλασσα, οι άνθρωποι, η ζωή και η ομορφιά του νησιού.

    Μου αρέσει!

    • Ο/Η Eleni λέει:

      Η τιμη ειναι δικη μου, γλυκια μας Τζακυ. Δεν το ειχα διαβασει στο μπλογκ σου αλλα βλεπω οτι μοιραζομαστε τα ιδια αισθηματα για το νησι. Και για μενα η χρονια που περασα στην Ικαρια ηταν η καλυτερη της ζωης μου μεχρι τοτε. Ηταν αποκαλυπτικη και σωτηρια και επισης μου χαρισε κι ενα γιο!
      Ευχομαι τα καλυτερα
      και
      συγχαρητηρια για Ελληνικα σου !🙂

      Αρέσει σε 2 άτομα

  2. […] a selection of blog entries about my island. I also hope that my most faithful followers have read “No Gas Til Tuesday (1)” -the first part of selected entries from an entire blog dedicated to living in Ikaria written by […]

    Αρέσει σε 1 άτομο


Σχολιάστε

