What I blogged about in 2015


.
My blog posts about Ikaria in 2015
.hope for 2016

Happy New Year, my friends!


Google Image Search for Eleni's blog in 2015
The same as last year it’s again time to review for you my blog posts of 2015. I wasn’t counting but now I can see they were actually twelve, one for every month! If you are too lazy to scroll, you can just click on the image on the left and you will be directed to Google Image Search to see a gallery of random pics from my posts of 2016. But if you like things to come one after the other, go ahead and scroll below my gaping mouth🙂 I have set my posts in order of appearance: a book, two maps, a guiding woman, a group of friends, a cook, a craftsman and a crazy girl, a food gathering man, a survival manual, yoga in the wild, hikers in the wild, my river and me, mushrooms, and finally, amazing landscapes in winter. I hope 2016 will be as rich with good subjects as 2015. I hope,..

My photos in FlickrI am in Ikaria now and it feels like in a lifeboat: heading for the unknown but safe and calm.

love

 

.
Presenting Ikaria Guidebook, an honest, careful and responsible piece of work based on long field research. The texts are to the point without unneeded literature and the maps are bold, nicely colored, clear and helpful. But the best thing about this Guidebook is the emphasis on hiking!

Ikaria Guidebook !!!😎

.
Presenting the Google map of a circular hike in the Forest of Radi which lies between the village of Petropouli in Messaria and the village of Frantato in Perameria as created by the Mountain Climbing and Hiking Club of Ikaria and the Google map of several hikes in Ikaria, especially the one in Chalares canyon, created by our Czech friend Zdeněk who visited our island with his girlfriend Petra.

Two big hikes Google mapped!^^’

.
Presenting our friend Xenia and her work as bee-keeper and mountain tour guide in Ikaria

Xenia, the Ikarian mountain guide❤

.
My friends Angelos, Xenia, Lefteris, Lina and Giorgos, all of them well-educated and experienced local guides, joined their forces and formed a collective. They are opening an agency of mountain tour guiding in Armenistis, the main tourist town of Ikaria.

KANGA! ツ ツ ツ ツ ツ⭐

.
Presenting three irrelevent events which happened at the same time: 1) Jamie Oliver's visit, 2) Beautiful polished and painted pebbles on sale, and ... 3) Girls who do headstands in wild places!

food, pebbles and headstands😉

.
Presenting a translated interview with Lefteris who, besides being a partner in KANGA, is a modern food gatherer, specializing in samphire. He has been gathering this tasty and nutritious wild plant which is very abundant at the rocky shores of Ikaria, since he moved to the island nine years ago.

Gathering samphire at the brink of the waves^^’

.
Presenting a translation of a groundbreaking article issued by the local municipal party 'ASPI' pointing out the the basic facts and oddities a young visitor should know about our strange island during the high tourist season. Excellent!

Ikaria in August – Instructions for Use😎

.
A new tradition is born! Yoga and other health and fitness exercises on the mountains and beaches of Ikaria!

These Mountains are for Yoga!🙂

.
One more post on my favorite subject of dramatic Ikarian landscapes. This time there are tiny people in them too!

Large views – Small people⭐

.
Flashback to 2003 when we discovered Chalares canyon in Ikaria. What happened then and what happened afterwards.

≅ river 2003 ≅❤

.
Presenting a group hike with the Hiking Club of Ikaria inside a wooded mountain ravine, looking for mushrooms and learning their names, getting to know their qualities and the big part they play in the eco-system. I am sharing this post because, like many Ikarians, I love mushrooms.

Mushrooms!😀

.
My friend Angelos contributes to my blog with a great article presenting 36 amazing black and white photos taken in the rocky landscapes of Pezi by an American writer and photographer during the winter.

Thick with the eerie awe of the uncanny😮

.
.
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
.
.

9 σχόλια on “What I blogged about in 2015”

  1. Ο/Η egotoagrimi λέει:
    .
    Your blog rocketed rocked in 2015! There are seven more asides hidden posts which we❤ and it’s a pity not to be reviewed so I am adding them in comments.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR, soulsister! ☀ ☀ ☀
    ⭐⭐⭐
    .
    Though it’s nice in Ikaria in winter we are already missing certain situations which make a difference and hightlight our life on the island all year long.

    Stony Softness 1😎

    .
    It’s June and we are going to hike and swim there! I bet you will never find this place!

    Stony Softness 2^^’

    .
    Seasonal hippie life – a short and secret summer break without bad life and drugs involved. Only little cherry tomatoes. It’s such a sweet mood and so liberating after those crazy and stressful final school exams these kids have gone through. Although so many years have passed, I know what I am talking about!

    Seasonal Hippie Island❤

    .
    A lot of word is made in this blog about my friend, Nana, and her doings with me or with own her friends in Ikaria. I feel that though I have said much, I have shown relatively few pictures. So there you are, take these randomly chosen snapshots. Some are totally random and some from a wild ride in the south west of the island last week. :-D

    Wild Shots⭐

    .
    A poem by Carl Sandburg and a gallery of amazing black & white pictures from Ikaria by resident photographer Christos Malachias

    I shall foot it😉

    .
    From *the Labyrinth* where I’m imprisoned by my own free will and I work for the King, I’m posting the best ever poem about Icarus, plus some artwork and a few meaningful pictures.

    Waiting for Icarus^^’

    .
    Walking with friends in the amazing rockscapes of Pezi, Ikaria island, Greece, May 14, 2015. Taking photos and singing ♪♫ ♪♫ ♪♫ «I found an island in your arms, Country in your eyes, Arms that chain, Eyes that lie, Break on through to the other side, Break on through to the other side, ☀ yeah !» ^^’ Here are the 17 shots I chose to post to WP and my Flickr.

    Break on through to the other side yeah ☀ !😉

    .
    Looking at photos, joking, laughing and celebrating Nana’s first sureal weeks of her new life in Ikaria.

    nακεd & unemployed^^’

    .

    Αρέσει σε 5 άτομα

  2. Ο/Η elinalafina λέει:
    .
    .
    .
    Έκανες τα ίδια και καλύτερα με πέρσι.

    ««…doing things and influencing others to do things. We were involved in moving ahead, following visions and creating visions…»«

    .
    Καλή και δημιουργική Χρονιά, Ελένη! Καλή και δημιουργική χρονιά, Ικαρία!🙂
    .

    Αρέσει σε 4 άτομα

  3. Ο/Η angelosk λέει:
    .
    .
    .
    Loved that!

    «I am in Ikaria now and it feels like in a lifeboat: heading for the unknown but safe and calm.«

    Not only that. As a matter of fact, we are also rescuing souls!

    .
    Happy New Year!🙂
    .

    Αρέσει σε 4 άτομα

  4. Ο/Η Nicoleta λέει:

    I wish so much to see this island once in a lifetime, but don’t think my dream will ever come true

    Αρέσει σε 1 άτομο

  5. Ο/Η Kanga Ikaria λέει:

    Happy New Year, Eleni!
    Keep up your excellent work!

    Αρέσει σε 1 άτομο

  6. Ο/Η Chiara λέει:
    .
    .
    .
    Hi Eleni. Your «stupidity» is very much loved! Your website is a diamond and you seem to be a wonderful person. I will spend more time to read your stuff as I am heading to Ikaria in June. Until then, efharisto para poli for sharing this!

    Peace & love
    Chiara

    .
    🙂

    Αρέσει σε 1 άτομο

  7. Ο/Η Chiara λέει:
    .
    .
    .
    You flatter me Eleni! I think my perspectives about things I snap are much better than my actual photographic skills😉 Thanks for your friends’ contact, I’ll be happy to meet them. I am pretty sure I will see you some time else around. Until then, take care and again well done for your amazing job.

    .
    Chiara

    Αρέσει σε 1 άτομο


Σχολιάστε

