WOW [🤩] for Hiking Ikaria on Instagram!


.
The amazing stony plateaus of mt Atheras, Ikaria 

.
«Ikaria 015 des» in Gallery: ΓΙΑΤΙ ΣΤΗΝ ΙΚΑΡΙΑ; Μια συνέντευξη με την Ελένη Hello readers,
like in my previous article, in this one too I am presenting again a set of posts from the OPS Ikarias facebook page. They refer to three consecutive entries in their home blog all with the same subject:
Hiking Ikaria Photos on Instagram.
Hey, readers, that’s amazing! 🤩
At last the true nature of our island has been discovered, appreciated, and most of all, enjoyed! This is so hopeful, so happy, so positive! When I saw the first of these articles two months ago I was almost in tears. Think that I was treated almost like a sick person when I spent months hiking on the island in 2005.
Υes, I know. Instagram is all about self-promotion – look at me doing this, look at me posing there – but what do you want, that’s only human. As long as there is balance between the self and the setting (and not too many filters), instagram may offer good evidence of the instagramer’s experience. I was so happy to see this – I mean, the nattural experience –  in all the 150 frames displayed in the three articles below. And some of them are amazing photos too! I wish I could see a few in a site that would do more justice to them, let’s say a photo community like Flickr.
Anyway, enough with my thoughts. See for yourselves now. Each article contains (embeds) 50 images. They are the following:
«Τα βουνά της Ικαρίας στο Ίνσταγκραμ – 1ο μέρος»
(The Mountains of Ikaria on Instagram – 1st part)
«Τα βουνά της Ικαρίας στο Ίνσταγκραμ – 2ο μέρος»
(The Mountains of Ikaria on Instagram – 2nd part)
«Τα βουνά της Ικαρίας στο Ίνσταγκραμ – 3ο μέρος»
(The Mountains of Ikaria on Instagram – 3d part)
Closing this happy post, I would like to ask my faithful followers and beloved commentators to scroll down these long pages and choose a picture, copy the link and add it here as a comment. Because I think we are facing something new here. If we count in the beautiful captions and inspired descriptions found among several of these rectangulars, I think that besides and after the popular and inevitably trivial #ikariagram hashtag, there is enough quality material on instagram by now to initiate the hashtag: #hikingikariagram!!!!
! 😚 😋
 




.

References:

«a path and a poll». An old article in my blog about the first old trail I discovered by myself in Ikaria, which was later called The Trail of the Elves «The day we took over the mountains!». An article in my blog about a memorable day when all of sudden a lot of people in Ikaria went hiking on the trails and they loved it! In my blog: «Large Views, Small People, or τοπια των αλλων plus +». To pay respect to the new trend, I have chosen landscapes which are not empty. 13 landscape shots which somewhere in their many pixels include beautiful human figures! In one of them I am included too, that was when I was young and wild enough to match the natural surroundings. «Όποιος αγαπάει τα βουνά, μόνο φρίκη θα νιώσει...» A post of the Ikarian Hiking Club to their page on facebook about the terrible threat from the installation of over 100 gigantic wind turbines along the heights of Ikarian ridge, Atheras.
.
.

.
Wednesday, February 3, 2021
.

16 Σχόλια on “WOW [🤩] for Hiking Ikaria on Instagram!”

  1. Ο/Η egotoagrimi λέει:
    .
    .
    I don’t know… It’s hard to choose. I think this one from article 1. There is feeling about it that I like a lot.

  2. Ο/Η elinalafina λέει:
    .
    .
    Picking Greek strawberry tree berries on the trail to Manganitis
    inside article 2!

  3. Ο/Η Greg Johnston λέει:
    .
    .
    Not to be contrary, but I would say with love and warmth be careful what you wish for! It could become too popular and «loved to death,» to borrow a phrase being used here. On this continent people are flocking to the outdoors as never before, one thing relatively safe to do considering the virus. That’s not necessarily bad, but many don’t have the ethic that comes with experience and that, along with the numbers, impacts the wilderness and the wildlife. However I am optimistic normalcy will return! XOXOXO

    .

    Αρέσει σε 2 άτομα

    • Ο/Η Eleni λέει:
      .
      .
      Thank you, Greg! I get your point. This is happening in certain popular Greek mountains too. Take for example mt Olympus where a terrible accident happened just last month. There is no danger of overcrowding though in Ikaria. We are too far from all major cities. No pressure from crazy urban lockdowners here! 🙂
      I hope too that normality will return… some day.

      .
      🙄 😉 🙂

      Αρέσει σε 8 άτομα

  4. Ο/Η angelosk λέει:
    .
    .
    The girl resting under the forked tree
    in the river in article 2.
    I don’t know why. I just feel I was there 😉

  5. Ο/Η Eleni λέει:
    .
    .
    Excellent choices, everybody,
    showing good taste and sensitivity!
    Thank you all for taking part in this little game!
    I love you! ❤
    When there are more post like this
    in the OPS Ikarias blog, I will reblog and we'll play again!

    Ooops! My choice is…. the set
    with the hard hiker
    found in article 2.
    The title of the set is «Ηλιοπερπατήματα»: «SunWalks»! ❤

  6. […] Not much to say, dear readers. A lot of that was said already in my article about the feedback hiking in Ikaria is getting through Instagram. But something was missing! […]

    Αρέσει σε 8 άτομα


Σχολιάστε

Ο ιστότοπος χρησιμοποιεί το Akismet για την εξάλειψη των ανεπιθύμητων σχολίων. Μάθετε πως επεξεργάζονται τα δεδομένα των σχολίων σας.