≅ river 2003 ≅


.
.
.

aqua1006 (msaz) - Ikaria 2003Seeing pictures of those new girls as they went around and posed proudly in the wild nature of Ikaria last summer, I said: «Hey, young ladies! We were there long before you!» Not that -goes without saying- we were the first. We don’t claim a title which righteously belongs to the hippies. But we were the first who took photos and shared them with the world. Retracting my memories, I had even made a drafty webpage in 2004 where I described the magic of one of those places -the best in my opinion in the whole island. «Hike Chalares, canyon of my heart», was the title, if I am not mistaken. I had received critisism for that page, critisism of the kind, «You shouldn’t give out secrets» and so on. But I was sure of my step. Wonders of nature shouldn’t be kept secret. The same goes for «pockets of freedom», they shouldn’t be kept secret either. But this is not the issue today. The issue today is that, twelve years after that day of September when we walked up bravely for almost the whole length of that river, today that I am not as young and posy as I was in 2003, I am sharing again with the world some of the material stored in the poor memory card of our obsolete Casio Exilim which could contain no more than 20 hi-res shots. But first let me review a few stories about the river – the scenery where these shots where taken.
♦ ♦ ♦  As I said, in 2003 we visited the canyon to survey the location and take photos. Besides sport and fun, our purpose was to a evaluate: «Was it as beautiful as they said? And if so, what kind of threats to the environment were there?».
♦ ♦ ♦  Having proven that Chalares was an amazing place, having shown that inspite it was September, there was plenty of water and the vegetation was lush, having warned that the sides of the hills were infested by disastrous free-grazing goats, I suggested that a hiking trail was created in order to put in value the beauty of the canyon and hopefully promote its protection.
♦ ♦ ♦  My appeal was heard and in 2005 a large trail network spread in the area. In addition, the large river pool which appears in the photos below was chosen for a very interesting experiment: the construction of a small environment-friendly semipermeable dam, meant to slow down the flow of the river and give new strengh to the vegetation.
♦ ♦ ♦  But though in the coming years the canyon got to be more and more known, visited and enjoyed, the main threat to its environment was not treated.
Unfortunately the goats were always there. As a matter of fact, for reasons that don’t concern this review, there were even more! As a result, exactly five years ago, in October 18, 2010, when a torrential rainfall hit the western part of the island, the overgrazed, barren and unstable sides of the lower part of the canyon collapsed. Tons of earth and rocks were carried by the water smashing the trees  and wiping out all vegetation, leveling the lakes, transforming what used to be a detailed natural handiwork into a flat highway of gravel and sand.
Today is the black anniversary of that disaster. For older girls like me it is a bitter reminder that it takes much more things than just good intentions for paradise to happen. For younger girls I hope it is a lesson to be learned, I am afraid, only through experience. I am spreading my winds (which have started to turn grey) over their pretty heads and I am dedicating to them seven pictures from that blissful day of 2003 in the river when it was rich, when it was green, when it was mine. For better or worse it’s their turn now.
The following photos were heavily processed using different methods in different periods of time. In this entry, as they always should, they appear their real «order taken», which is «in order of feelings»: curiosity, worry, happiness, pride, relaxed bliss, anxiety, humility. Their titles in Flickr are different but if you move your mouse over each picture, you will be able to know which is which.
That’s all. Let the old show begin again! ^^’

.

curiosity

.

worry

.

happiness

.

pride

.

relaxed bliss

.

anxiety

.

humility

.


Copyright © Eleni Ikanou



5 Σχόλια on “≅ river 2003 ≅”

  1. Ο/Η angelosk λέει:
    .
    .
    .
    What a glorious flashback! In your previous entry you said that this one would be a surprise but I didn’t expect that much! You left me speechless! When I pull myself together, I»l come back with a comment that makes more sense.

    ^^’
    .

    Αρέσει σε 5 άτομα

  2. Ο/Η Θεοδώριχος λέει:
    .
    .
    .
    Creative, imaginative and caring women like you and your friends honour the environment and if you ask me, I am all for girls instead of goats in that canyon! 🙂
    And knowing the place, in case someone wondered, I should say that there is enough privacy for everybody with legs fit for that hard terrain to have a good moment somewhere in its 14 kilometers.
    I love your writing, Eleni. Your photos are also admirable. You got me deeply involved into the feelings. The last one («humility») is my favorite of course.

    .

    Αρέσει σε 8 άτομα

  3. Ο/Η elinalafina λέει:
    .
    .
    .
    Account with drama tones and many quotes I want to keep in my mind! thumbs up
    My favorite is «anxiety»

    .

    Ikaria 302 - Standing in apprehension

    .
    Let me tell you, we don’t like goats and, wings over our heads or not, we shall go on just because it’s fun!

    .

    Two undrowned Ophelias - comment 1187

    .
    😀
    .

    Αρέσει σε 8 άτομα

  4. Ο/Η girl of the last chance λέει:
    .
    .
    .
    Eleni, this is poetry written for the mind and poetry painted for the eyes! We will never reach that level of quality integration. At least never all at once in a row of seven… 😦

    .

    Nan in cove Ikaria 1

    .

    (my favorite: «relaxed bliss»)

    .

    Αρέσει σε 8 άτομα


Σχολιάστε

Ο ιστότοπος χρησιμοποιεί το Akismet για την εξάλειψη των ανεπιθύμητων σχολίων. Μάθετε πως επεξεργάζονται τα δεδομένα των σχολίων σας.